I love seeing the beauty of the world as I work at 35k feet. This is a compilation of some of my favorite window scenes.

As a flight attendant, the view from my office window (AKA the galley window, a customer seat window, or the cockpit window) is constantly changing. It’s a curious and beautiful thing. I love to take peeks during any downtime I have. Here are some of my favorites:

The time we floated through heaven:

Once when we saw the world’s largest excavation site:

It felt close up even though we were tens of thousands of feet in the air. It’s huge. So big in fact, that besides the Great Wall of China, it’s the only human endeavor that can be seen from space:

Every sunset ever from my galley window:

Sweet dreams! #sunset over the #Atlantic #planeview #crewlife #travel #instatravel #travelgram #windowview

A post shared by Tripping Over The World (@trippingotw) on

The Grand Canyon is just as grand from above as below:

Flew over the Grand Canyon this morning #travelgram #travel #grandcanyon #flight #crewlife

A post shared by Tripping Over The World (@trippingotw) on

The time I got spooked by a pilot’s halo:

But soon I forgot about the superstition, and became enveloped by its ethereal beauty. Everything was alright, of course.

And of course, clouds:

IMG_20150908_142952075_HDR

More clouds:

A beautiful day to fly #travel #nofilter

A post shared by Tripping Over The World (@trippingotw) on

And cloud shadows on clouds!!!

When I realized the Andes lasted forever:

The Andes are the tallest mountain range in the Americas and the longest mountain chain in the world. My recent flight from Lima to Cusco was basically over the Andes the entire time (over an hour). Insane.

The time we flew over Monument Valley and it felt like swimming through a painting by Monet:

And finally last but not least, this. Just this:

Lightning storms are probably my favorite sight to see when flying. They’re awe-inspiring. This one was caught on tape by a friend a few months ago.

Related Reading:

The pilot’s halo is an incredible phenomenon you can only see from the air

What it’s like to fly above a lightning storm

This video shows what a lightning storm looks like from above

— Laura Rowley

Written by Laura Rowley

I am an artist, flight attendant, and travel blogger.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

