Some people believe the Denver Airport hides sinister secrets. 

I was sitting in an airport shuttle van last week when, just before getting to the terminal, we passed a towering statue of a blue horse.

“What’s with that horse?” I asked my driver, a Denver native.

“I don’t know man,” he said. “Some people say it’s for the Denver Broncos, but who gives a horse glowing red eyes. They said a lot of weird things about the airport. Conspiracies and shit.”

My driver was referring to the widespread speculation that the design of Denver Airport includes numerous nods to some unknown evil. My driver mentioned several of the conspiracy theories about the airport: that the runways are laid out in what looks like a swastika; that there are secret tunnels running though the airport; and of course the murals.

One of the strange murals at the Denver airport. #travel #denver #airport #conspiracy #art

A post shared by Tripping Over The World (@trippingotw) on

The murals, which are near the baggage claim area, are the most visible “evidence” that there is something weird going on at the Denver airport. Note in the one above, for example, that beneath the rainbow and children, there is what appears to be a dead soldier in a gas mask.

The mural next to that one is even scarier:

IMG_3837

During my time at the Denver airport, I watched for several minutes as numerous travelers passed these murals, did a double take, and gazed at them in seeming confusion.

The conspiracy theory is that these murals depict a future one-world government. However, artist Leo Tanguma has insisted they’re actually supposed to show how humans destroy nature, and how people can come together.

That explanation, however, hasn’t stopped the speculation. Indeed, my driver told me (and I later looked it up) that the blue horse statute — which is nicknamed Bluecifer — actually fell on and killed the artist who created it.

Other conspiracy theorists point to the fact that the airport has Masonic imagery in its dedication stone. And my driver claimed that after they finished building the airport, they “built it all again, on top of what they had just made.” The conclusion, he seemed to suggest, was that there was something hidden below.

“I don’t know, but they might be true,” he ultimately concluded of the conspiracy theories.

I personally don’t know what’s going on at the Denver airport, but BuzzFeed Video (a division of my company but not one I’m involved in) put together this video about the various conspiracies. Enjoy:

— Jim Dalrymple II

Written by Jim Dalrymple II

Editor in Chief of Tripping Over the World. Also, reporter at BuzzFeed News.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

