Right now I’m in the planning stages of my first trip to Peru. It’s somewhere I’ve always wanted to go and even though it’s not until June, I’m getting excited for it.

Most recently I spent an entire afternoon at Barnes & Noble perusing the Peru guidebooks. And I was pleasantly surprised at the wide selection.

IMG_1818.JPG

There were six separate guidebooks just sitting on the shelf from different publishers including Lonely Planet, Moon, Fodor’s, DK Eyewitness, Bradt, and my personal favorite of the bunch: Rough Guides. Plus there were several smaller books on Lima and Peruvian culture.

I knew that Peru was popular, but I was still surprised at the variety of guidebooks they had in stock. Conversely for my recent trip to Turkey a couple months ago, I found myself with only four book options at the same bookstore. And only one smaller book on Istanbul in stock.

IMG_0126.JPG

Four was still plenty of options for Turkey, and we had a fantastic trip. But  I was still pleasantly surprised at the even wider selection on Peru. Perhaps it’s a bit more popular of destination than I realized. Either way I’m excited to go, and you can look for more posts on Peru in June.

— Laura Rowley

Written by Laura Rowley

I am an artist, flight attendant, and travel blogger.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

