We’re strong believers in packing light. And even though I only ever bring a backpack, I always make room for a few small light weight items like a flashlight, a universal sink stop, and a sewing kit.

Case in point: Turkey

I was glad I had my sewing kit on me during mine and Jim’s most recent trip. We were in Turkey, and my parents were traveling with us. The highs were in the 30s F, so I needed to keep buttoned up to stay warm.

IMG_8845

 

One morning halfway through the trip, my button popped off my jacket when I was buttoning it up. I checked our hotel bathroom to see if there was a sewing kit in it. There wasn’t. Then I remembered the sewing kit in my pack, but it was pretty depleted from previous uses. Luckily, Jim had one in his pack too. So in just a few minutes, I was ready to go out again.

Tip: Next time you stay in a hotel that has a mini sewing kit, pick it up and keep it permanently stored with your travel kit. You never know when it’ll come in handy.

— Laura Rowley

Written by Laura Rowley

I am an artist, flight attendant, and travel blogger.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

