A few weeks ago while scrolling through Vine, I began coming across evocative videos that immediately made me want to travel. Very quickly I discovered that the videos were all coming from the same person: Claudia Tripping, aka Claudia Cukrov. I’m a fan of what Vines can do generally, but Claudia’s in particular offer a master class in how this unique video format can capture a sense of place.

After watching and re-watching many of Claudia’s Vines, I reached out to her via email and asked why she chose to create Vines, how she manages to travel so much, and more. Here’s what she had to say.

Tripping World: Thanks for talking to us Claudia. Tell us a little bit about yourself. What do you do? What are you into?

Claudia Cukrov: I’m an Australian transplant currently working as a digital strategist in New York, but I’m really a mixed bag, with roots in art, design, and film.

TW: How long have you been making Vines?

CC: I play around with new social platforms every day for work, so I fell in love with Vine from day one with my original vine account, Claudia Cukrov. A year later I started documenting my travels under Claudia Tripping.

TW: You’re Vines tend to focus on interesting and far-flung places. Why does Vine work well for that?

CC: Unlike a filtered photo on Instagram, Vine has an authenticity and an honesty about it. It gives people the ability to get something — a message, a joke, a statement and a vibe across in six seconds flat and for me, that’s a powerful tool for preserving a moment in time and telling a story.

TW: Speaking of travel, what do you think makes for a good Vine? What advice would you give people wanting to try this?

CC: Vine was once a simple tool with very few options for creating content, just tap the screen and record. That’s why I fell in love with the platform — simple to use, and yet the creativity that came from its users really blew me away.

Vine has since matured and added a whole bunch of features including the ability to upload clips. I’ve gone back and forth on all-natural vines verses produced videos and at the end of the day, I don’t think this argument is really valid anymore. As long as you’re telling the story you need to tell and getting your message across then you’re doing good.

TW: Tell me about your travels. How do you manage to get out and see the world?

CC: I’ve actually had a flood of people asking me this question on Vine and there’s really nothing more to it other than I don’t believe in a savings account. I spend almost everything I have on travel — I love it and I make it happen.

Travel is a huge part of Australian culture. Despite its isolation, we are pushed out of the nest and told to travel from an early age.

Moving to America was definitely an adjustment. Standard paid vacation here is around 5-10 days a year, which is a huge jump from the 4-5 weeks of vacation you get back in Australia. However, it has taught me to take advantage of every public holiday and plan ridiculous road trip itineraries wherever I can get a cheap plane ticket or car rental.

The U.S.A. also has some of the most affordable gas in the western world and a plane ticket here is a lot cheaper than in Australia, so you really can make travel magic happen from this part of the world.

TW: Do you have any advice for people who might want to travel more?

CC: I grew up traveling and my parents did an amazing job at getting us around on next to no money. Asia is particularly great for getting your mind blown and not going broke in the process.

There’s a lot of people out there who talk about places they’d love to see but never get around to it.

I’ve also met a lot of scared people over the years who have total delusions about different countries and cultures. Don’t be one of these people. Get a passport and go.

Claudia has far more amazing Vines than I can include in this post, so check out her profile on Vine. She’s also on Twitter as Claudia Tripping and Claudia Cukrov, and on Instagram and Tumblr.

— Jim Dalrymple II

Written by Jim Dalrymple II

Editor in Chief of Tripping Over the World. Also, reporter at BuzzFeed News.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

