“Romanticism is a stated longing for whatever is endless.” It’s Laura writing this time and the quote comes from a Romantic exhibit at the Museu de Arte de Sao Paulo Assis Chateaubriand. I have to say I was quite impressed with the museum’s permanent collection. Jimmy and I got there a half hour before it opened so we sat on a long bench encircling the cobbled courtyard and we soaked in as much heat from the spotty sunlight that we could. There was a large group of teenagers waiting admission who were on what looked like a school fieldtrip. I had gotten out my sketchbook and had started drawing the museum (which is totally chic 1960s) when a group of the kids wandered over towards me and Jim kind of blocking my view of the building. So I began peoplewatching while sketching and I couldn’t help but think how teenagers can’t help but be physically, fashionably, and socially awkward regardless of the culture they come from. Anyways not long after, we were able to get our tickets and enter into a globalized world pre-McDonalds, Starbucks and the Internet: in other words, the world of art. Even while in the southern hemisphere I can’t escape Degas’ dancers, van Gogh’s nightscapes, Monet’s water, or Chagall’s country life. I’m not mentioning this as a criticism of the museum (I should mention alongside Picasso’s cubist portraits and Modigliani’s long-necked women there was also an exquisite mixed media self-portrait entitled “Eu” 1964 by Brazilian artist Darcy Pentecado that incorporated ink, fabric, paint, human hair, and rubber gloves, as well as a beautiful painting from 1935 by Brazilian artist Carlos Prado called “Varredores de Rua” (street sweepers) that blew me so away that I sat down and sketched it for 20 minutes. Stylistically it reminded me very much of Maynard Dixon’s “Forgotten Man” in BYU’s MOA). So my point in all this, and which I reached this morning while admiring Rembrandt, Rodin, and Renoir among others is that Art (not Coca Cola) is the world’s first great globalizer. – Laura Rowley

Written by Jim Dalrymple II

Editor in Chief of Tripping Over the World. Also, reporter at BuzzFeed News.

Leave a Reply

